Eclipsed

I took the garbage out tonight, well after I had crossed the dilusional threshold of tired. School work will have to wait until tomorrow but local sanitation services aren’t as flexible. I looked curiously at my neighbors, congregating across the street. One noticed me and pointed to the sky saying, “it’s the blood moon.” I looked up and was suddenly sober. The sight was pretty too but I realized, this is the first time all summer that I’ve actually stopped to look up at the sky and marvel at the stars. A thing that had consumed many hours every night, and much of my thought life in previous years had gone completely overlooked this time. My heart sank and the ache in my neck seemed to make more sense.

Have be I really been so busy so as not to see the eclipse?

Leave a Reply

